Making a Donation to Gabriola Players

Gabriola Players presented its first production in 2004 and since then we have staged nearly 80 plays, including in recent years many new works by local writers. In 2007 we were incorporated as a non-profit society under the BC Societies Act and in June 2013, we were approved as a Registered Charity under the Canada Revenue Act with the registration number 83520 3753 RR0001.

As a non-profit, we work diligently to present local theatre that is both entertaining and affordable, keeping ticket prices low as we aim to break even financially. Our main sources of revenue are ticket sales (75%), sponsor advertising (15%), memberships (5%) and donations (5%), though most donations go to our Don Whitton Memorial Bursary Fund rather than into general funds. In recent years, we are thrilled that our enthusiastic audiences support sales of up to 900 tickets across our four or five annual performances, with half of those sales generated by our Christmas panto.

Like many other businesses, and especially performing arts organizations, we took a hit financially as a result of the pandemic.

For two years we had to rely on online productions in order to create. We are grateful for the support these shows received and to the number of people who made tax-deductible donations to help keep us afloat.

We’re very happy to be back on stage live once again – albeit with reduced seating for the safety of cast, crew and audience members. This has reduced ticket revenue at a time when overheads continue to increase.

In these circumstances we are immensely grateful for any help you may be able to offer to help us stay financially healthy until we can return to full capacity. We appreciate all donations and we can issue an income tax receipt for amounts of $25 or more.

Here are the ways in which you can make a donation:

  • Donate via the Canada Helps charitable site which will issue a tax receipt immediately.

Again we very much appreciate and thank our loyal and supportive members and audience.

– The Board of Directors